The Unhealthy Side Of Sugar; How It Affects Our Bodies

images

White Sugar

I love candy, cookies, chips… you name it! Many times after lunch or dinner, I took a small bite of something sweet to end off the meal, and during the afternoon, I’d grab a quick bite of chocolate or a cookie. The more sugar you eat, the more your body will crave it and I seemed to be getting into the trap with no way of coming out of it. It was going good for a while but then my body was trying to tell me: STOP! I had trouble getting up in the morning. I would literally have to pull myself out of bed each morning, but once the day moved on, I somehow got the energy I needed and I felt fine. At first, I told myself I must be lacking in some vitamins so I paid my doctor a visit and he sent me for blood work.  When the results for that came out fine, I realized it must be the sugar. I finally listened to my body and got hold of myself. I told myself, NO MORE SUGAR! No if’s but’s or when’s. No means no!

images (3)

Sugar Cookies

That day, I went out to the store and bought food I would be able to eat and nosh on when I felt the urge to eat something. I bought popcorn, dried fruit (without the sugar!) nuts, whole wheat crackers… and of course whole wheat flour for all my cooking and healthy baking! The next day I didn’t eat any sugar and after a few days, I noticed a huge difference! When I cheated one day and ate some slices of white bread, I felt weak and shaky afterwards. Then I knew without a doubt that white flour and sugar is not good for me. Additionally, I felt refreshed when I woke up in the morning instead of feeling like I hadn’t slept all night. I had more energy in my day and I didn’t get tired after going to my aerobics and toning class. I knew exercise is meant to give your body energy and I never figured out why it always made me more tired. When I went to my aerobics class when I was off the sugar, I saw a huge improvement. I was so happy to see results and it gave me a drive to keep it up.

I also bought a sugar substitute; 100% natural cane sugar. I know it’s not the best out there but it did make things better. With this sugar and my whole wheat flour, I baked healthy muffins or cookies and I didn’t feel deprived of my goodies! I still had cookies to eat if I wanted, of course in moderation.

images (5)

Natural Brown Cane Sugar

When I discussed this sugar topic with a nutritionist, she told me how white potatoes are also not that healthy. They have a high Glycemic Index number which means your body breaks down the starches in potatoes very quickly, resulting in a more rapid increase in the level of glucose in your bloodstream.

(Read more: http://www.livestrong.com/article/374813-rice-and-potatoes-on-the-glycemic-index/#ixzz2KcYYMzpZ.) Sweet potatoes are much healthier and they are so tasty! Instead of french fries, I make sweet potato fries. Instead of mashed potatoes,  make mashed sweet potatoes with fried onions. I actually have a great recipe with sweet potatoes that is healthy too!

Here goes:

1 butternut squash peeled and cubed

2 sweet potatoes peeled and cubed

4 carrots peeled and sliced

Heat a little oil in a pot and place the vegetables in the pot. Cover the pot and let it simmer until the vegetables are soft and ready. You can add in a drop of water to the pot if necessary. Add in 1 spoon of honey, 1 spoon of brown sugar (or any sugar substitute) and salt to taste. Serve warm. This is a great side dish to any dinner especially in the winter.

images (4)

Butternut Squash/Sweet Potatoes/Carrots Hot Side Dish

6 responses

  1. I hope I can cut my addiction to sugar then maybe my kids won’t have so much of it too.

    1. I was hoping the same by me; if the nosh is around my kids want it!

  2. I’ve already switched my family to using honey and maple syrup as our sweeteners. I noticed a huge difference in how I feel. My kid still get plenty of sugar handed to them, but at least I know it is limited at home. I have a huge sweet tooth so I was surprised when I realized that I wasn’t really missing the sweets. I am happy to satisfy the craving with fruit these days. The best part……..without dieting I was able to lose all kinds of weight. Nice side effect. Your recipe looks great. I’ll have to include it in my dinner plans soon. – Christina

    1. I found the same thing; I didn’t miss the sweets as much as I thought I would although I do still want a good piece of cake!!

  3. I have been sugar free since 1984. 🙂 This looks good. thank you for adding your wonderful blog to the Thursday Favorite Things hop. xo

    1. Wow! That is amazing! I’m glad to be a part of your hop!

What is your opinion?

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Tell Another Mom

Support other Moms

about ss

scott sappenfield

RHF INDIA

The Complete Human Body

All of Me ...and my sons!

Family life, fun and reviews from a single mom and her 3 adventurous sons!

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Pictimilitude

Writing, Personal Development, Creativity, Spirituality and Personal Musings

Outnumbered Mumma

One lass living with four lads.

One Perfect Day

Fun and simple activities for kids to play, learn, create and explore.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Mother's Niche

Enjoying the Ride

Green Moms and Kids

For Moms and Kids Who Love Being GREEN!

Oilfield Mommy

The struggles of being a stay at home mom

oh my darlin & i.

hippie ladies & a bearded fellow.

Theresa Thomas

Everyday Catholic

