Are You One Of Those Moms That Are Constantly Chauffeuring Your Kids To School?

Many moms don’t mind driving their children to school, but rather than doing a service for your children, you are doing them a disservice.

I for example, used to be the stereotypical “helicopter mother”. If my children missed the bus, (which occurred quite often,) I would drive them to school. I ended up getting very stressed out by their last minute rushing. By the time they got into the car, even if I would drive the fastest possible and make every green light, it was still impossible to make it to school on time. So I would have to write them a late note, explaining why they were late and why they missed the bus…

And then it hit me, what service am I doing for my children? We need to allow our children to take responsibility for their own actions. I then pushed myself to shift my approach.

The next day, I told my children that I would no longer chauffeur them to school. They could walk, ask their father (who wouldn’t fall for this,) call a car service or a neighbor – anything, but depend on me.

Lo and behold, the first day that my eleven-year-old missed the bus, I reminded him of his choices. To my surprise, he accepted my choices and decided to undertake the thirty-minute walk. My six-year-old, who was watching the proceedings, was still undressed. He piped up, “When is my bus coming?” I told him, “In three minutes.” He ran back to his room, got dressed in record speed and made the bus. He felt great, and so did I. This year I am continuing the same approach. My children are happier, and I am so much calmer!

What is your opinion?

Dyslexia Parents Guide

A parents journey into dyslexia

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Tell Another Mom

Support other Moms

about ss

scott sappenfield

RHF™ India

The Complete Human Body™

All of Me ...and my sons!

Family life, fun and reviews from a single mom and her 3 adventurous sons!

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Pictimilitude

Writing, Personal Development, Creativity, Spirituality and Personal Musings

Outnumbered Mumma

One lass living with four lads.

One Perfect Day

Fun and simple activities for kids to play, learn, create and explore.

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

A World of Simplicity

and Insight to Chaos

Top 10 of Anything and Everything!!!

Animals, Gift Ideas, Travel, Books, Recycling Ideas and Many, Many More

Mother's Niche

My Journey Through Motherhood

Green Moms and Kids

For Moms and Kids Who Love Being GREEN!

Oilfield Mommy

The struggles of being a stay at home mom

oh my darlin & i.

hippie ladies & a bearded fellow.

Theresa Thomas

Everyday Catholic

